Quieter Brain

My brain is quieter today. Unfortunately, my body is tapped out. The price of a couple of high anxiety days. Every muscle is sore and aching. Think that’s the one thing everyone leaves out about depression and anxiety. It isn’t just a misbehaving brain. It impacts you physically, too, and it is exhausting on every level.

The school carnival was fine. I hated the crowds and overheated, as usual, but Spook had fun and nothing horrid happened. I was just relieved to get it over with. Because I could barely function the whole day with the rampaging paranoia and anxiety. I literally watched the clock, unable to focus on anything, just waiting for it to be over.

Today I woke before six. I kept hitting snooze. Normally I’m programmed to get moving after Slipknot and 30STM belt out about six times. And it’s hard for me to sleep when it’s light out. I didn’t think I’d nod off. Especially with two alarms running on snooze and going off every 15 minutes. Then I did not off and woke at 7:25 to Eminem. OOPS. Normally that’s when we leave and Spook wasn’t even up yet. Guess the exhaustion just got the better of me.

And of course, scumbag brain screams WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO BE EXHAUSTED ABOUT, YOU DON’T WORK, YOU’RE A LOUSY HOUSEKEEPER SO YOU’RE NOT CLEANING, YOU HAVE NO SOCIAL LIFE, YOU’RE JUST LAZY!

Ahh, the joy of depression and its many lies and distortions. Until you’ve lived it, you just don’t know. And when you live it in the long term…It makes you view things differently. Not being able to get out of bed ceases to be “something lazy people do”. Because it’s different when it happens to YOU.

My writing was blocked yesterday due to the panxiety and now I feel totally blocked. Which sucks because Monday I had all sorts of ideas floating…It’s mind boggling how mental conditions impact every aspect of your life. People think it’s just stuff we don’t want to do or things that are difficult. No. It’s EVERYTHING ASPECT.And when it robs you of not just basic functionality, but also the things that make you keep breathing in spite of your conditions…
Suckage.

But at least for today my brain is quieter and I don’t think everyone is out to get me. It’s a tiny thing, but I’ll take the win.

One Response to “Quieter Brain”

  1. "Pucky" Says:

    Pucky the brain says you should win post of the week, the month, the year! NO ONE understands a mentally ill puck, unless you have one! Saddest part is, Pucky thinks that no one who is not mentally ill, even seems to care! Our world has become too self-centered, too me,me,me. Except for the mentally ill. We are the ones that carry the sadness for this world and because of that, we are the only ones that feel Empathy for the world.

Leave a Reply

