Urgent Update: Save Abby Cat Gofundme

Things have changed, drastically, and for the absolute worse. I have had to raise my goal to $700 after rushing Abby in to the emergency clinic. They are keeping her which raises the bill drastically.  This is my gofundme update, please, please, pass this around as much as you can. I am now indebted to a friend and I really have to raise the funds now that the vet has jacked up the bill. I will provide a receipt when I can access the scanner…

URGENT UPDATE: Abby took a turn for the worse today, quite abruptly, when I noticed infection had turned into maggots under her skin. I called every vet in and out of town, all of them wanting payment up front, minimum $200. I was bawling, my kid was bawling, as I tried to explain the goal had been met, I just needed two to four days for the money donated to come through. Still, the vets refused.
In a panic, knowing Abby might not make it through the night, I turned to a very close, old friend with financial burdens of his own and begged him to let me use his credit card to get Abby into the doctor. He agreed, even though they insisted he be present to show his ID along with the credit card and caused him to leave work. Seeing the money had been raised he agreed, literally dropping everything to meet us there.
The doctor was disgusted with Abby’s state and took an attitude, as if my poverty made me some sort of monster for her condition. I was bawling and this judgment and tongue clucking did not help. I wanted her to be seen days ago, they are the greed mongers insisting hundreds up front, so I was upset and insulted. Still, when he hinted that she may not make it…I told him everyone had donated to HELP her so do his best. If it doesn’t work, so be it, but we have to TRY to save this little kitty.
They charged two hundred up front to my friend’s card. After fees, I have $272 coming from here. The doctor’s estimate, since Abby’s condition was far worse than anticipated, says the bill is going to be at least $500 plus I have to have all my other cats treated for fleas. He thinks the abscess was caused by a flea bite. This brings the total up to almost $700 because the flea treatment is $21 each and we have four other cats inside.
This means I need to raise my goal to another $400, much as it humiliates me to do so. I’m just trying to do the right thing and it would have never gotten this far if any of the vets would have behaved reasonably and treated her before it got this bad.
The picture above was taken today two hours before we took Abby to the emergency clinic( extra cost), Abby with my daughter.
For those who have contributed and or/spread the word, sincerest thanks from the bottom of our hearts. Please keep spreading the word as Abby is not out of the woods by a long shot. I just want to do right by my kitty and I feel like I am being punished for being disabled and having limited income. It’s about her, not me, and my issues should not have prevented her from receiving care this long.
Thanks to everyone for caring.

https://funds.gofundme.com/dashboard/qd34kzkc

30 Responses to “Urgent Update: Save Abby Cat Gofundme”

  1. Reblogged this on Advocate for Invisible Illness! and commented:
    Please this has now become an emergency situation. If anybody can possibly donated anything at all to help this poor kitty who is very sick right now and the poor mother and child are very distraught. The vets could have prevented this if they only had the compassion to accept payments and give treatment like an ER would do for humans. Here is the gofundme link again.

  2. REBLOGGED AND TAGGED THE HELL OUT OF THIS FOR YOU, SPOOK AND ABBY! Love you so much! (I hate not being able to send anything monetarily) Praying for you guys and Abby ❤

    • Dude, I’ve been reaching out to people who don’t even like me simply because they have a major social network base. Whatever it takes to help Abby, so thanks a gazillion camelaffes! ‘Cept I love you caboodles cos you are well, not evil 😉

      • YAY! I’m not evil! I miss caboodles..

      • Yeah, me too. I bought an ugly ass green/tan monster tackle box years ago for all my war paints cos Caboodles have gone Casnoozle. Thanks, again, dude, much love to you and the guineacat, er pig.

        On Tue, Sep 1, 2015 at 7:56 PM, Take a Ride on My Mood Swing wrote:

        >

      • I use a Victoria’s Secret bag lol. I agree on the Casnoozles. Any time woman! I’ll give smores some chin scratches next time I see him. Loud little fucker 😉

      • Dude, that is just creepifying, considering Spook is currently on a “smores don’t melt the marshmallows” kick. Next time she eats a cold smore, I am gonna be horrified, seeing your pet’s face on the crackers! Even I’m not that ghoulish!

        On Tue, Sep 1, 2015 at 8:12 PM, Take a Ride on My Mood Swing wrote:

        >

      • BWAHAHAHAHA
        And wtf is a smore WITHOUT a melty marshmallow?! It’s not a smore for damn sure. And seriously-Smores is orange black and white…seemed appropriate, considering the last was Brownie and he was brown. My child is inventive I’ll give her that.
        I’ll refrain from telling Monkey you’ll be thinking of her pig watching Spook eat a non-smore 😉

      • LOL, preciate that, enough people think I am a monster! I only horrify children as a hobby.
        OOOH…SMIGS-Guinea pig smores.
        Yeah, I am too wrong.

      • Hahahaha! Nah, you’re no monster, you’re a Munster hehehehe 😉
        OMMFG BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA I TOTALLY SNORTED AT THAT! (In other countries, they are food, but not in this household!) SMIGS! HAHAHAHA

  3. I read your blog every day and I can see the love you have for your kitties. I shared your go fund me on my facebook page. I myself am in financial difficulties right now so am unable to donate but I did share your go fund me so maybe one of my friends can donate or share. Sending healing thoughts & prayers for Abby.

    • As I’ve told others…If you can donate, great. If you can’t, well, you’re in the same sucky boat as me. But since I don’t do social networking (anxiety/misanthropy issues) you sharing the message with your friends means the world! Sporks of gratitude, my friend, thanks.

  4. In gonna try to call sleep, tired but not sure what’ll happen when I actually lay down, gnite! ;-*

    • For me it’s always…BEEEEEP. Hello, you have reached sleep. Sleep is not available to take your call right now. Leave a message and the sandman may return it within the next 4-7 years. Have a nice night… Hope you fare better.

      On Tue, Sep 1, 2015 at 9:33 PM, Take a Ride on My Mood Swing wrote:

      >

      • OMG ~ LOL! That’s (not cool) friggin’ hilarious! mornin’, I got 5 hrs, that’s cool I guess. Woke up with Heart’s ‘Magic Man’ playing in my HEAD! ❤ that song!

  5. Reblogged this on Billy in Blunderland and commented:
    Please this is now an emergency, little Absinthe is fighting against all sorts of attacks, and all it would have needed was any of the many vets our friend applied to’s compassion in treating the kitten and accepting payments. Their cynicism is beyond belief. Please help this distraught mum and daughter save this kitten. All it takes is a few dollars, at least pass this message on. Thank you xxx

  6. Reblogged this on Invoke Delight and commented:
    Please help if you can guys this is REALLY important!

  7. I reblogged and donated asap. I have put it on twitter as well as am not on Social Media, and I’ve tagged other bloggers who might be able to spread it further. I will go read those updates now. xx

  8. *as well as am not on FACEBOOK (argh brain injury)

  9. Kurani Marsters Says:

    I get so sad when I hear about a person or an animal that can’t get urgent healthcare because of money. it makes me so angry. I hope you raise enough money and that Abby recovers well

Leave a Reply

