Mental Health Grammar Lesson

self-pit·y
noun
noun: self-pity
  1. excessive, self-absorbed unhappiness over one’s own troubles.
vent1
vent/
noun
noun: vent; plural noun: vents
  1. 1.
    an opening that allows air, gas, or liquid to pass out of or into a confined space.
    synonyms: duct, flue, shaft, well, passage, airway; More

    “an air vent”
    • the opening of a volcano, through which lava and other materials are emitted.
    • historical
      the touch hole of a gun.
    • the anus, especially one in a lower animal such as a fish that serves for both excretion and reproduction.
  2. 2.
    the expression or release of a strong emotion, energy, etc.
    “children give vent to their anger in various ways”

verb

verb: vent; 3rd person present: vents; past tense: vented; past participle: vented; gerund or present participle: venting

  1. 1.
    give free expression to (a strong emotion).
    “he had come to vent his rage and despair”
    synonyms: release, air, give vent to, give free rein to, let out, pour out, express, give expression to, voice, give voice to, verbalize, ventilate, discuss, talk over, communicate

    “the crowd vented their fury on the police”
  2. 2.
    provide with an outlet for air, gas, or liquid.
    “clothes dryers must be vented to the outside”

There IS a difference. Unfortunately, it takes intelligence to differentiate and the world at large is severely lacking.

Seriously…when was the last time a clothes dryer was accused of self pity for simply venting air?

If you don’t understand…Don’t judge me. I have no pity for myself. I do, however, have disgust for things that go on in my life. It requires venting. Not complaining. Not whining. VENTING. And perhaps second only to medication, venting, be in the form of therapy or blog, is what keeps us all from raiding a spork supply warehouse and going stabby on IGNORANT people.

Which, by the way, is another word the masses could stand to learn the proper meaning of.  Lots of people are born “stupid” as in having a lower IQ than others.

IGNORANCE is a state one chooses when told they are not knowledgeable about a topic yet refuse to educate themselves.

More important than an education are an open mind, a willingness to admit you need to learn and oh, yes, BUY A FRIGGING DICTIONARY.

That. Is. All.

wits

 

8 Responses to “Mental Health Grammar Lesson”

  1. WARNING!! ~ *smart ass sarcastic blurb from lil’ ole me* ~ my clothes dryer sometimes vents & bitches that I put cold wet clothes in it when no one empties the vent & there’s a bunch of lint in it’s trap causing it to work twice as hard. Mind you, it does wallow in self pity ~but I won’t hear any of that! LOL 🙂

    • Meh, mine complains, too. I have a tendency to leave coins in my clothes and the dryer has this real problem with laundering money. Stupid moral dryer is gonna vent me out to the police!

      On Sun, Jun 7, 2015 at 9:30 PM, Take a Ride on My Mood Swing wrote:

      >

  2. I don’t think I quite understand…*smartass Sass is back!* Celebrate by raiding said spork supply warehouse..and bedazzle the FUCK outta them…then have Reggie wing em at people as he flies by FABULOUSLY! Did that help?

  3. I almost spit my coffee out when I read the “raiding a spork supply warehouse” part. I really love your writing style, and I agree that people need to learn the meaning of the words they use. As someone with a degree in English, I greatly approve this post.

Leave a Reply

