Making a Mockery of Mental Illness

I don’t get many comments on this blog. So when I do, I read them with much interest. This morning, however, I awoke to non helpful bitchy little comments from someone with a site and an agenda. This site is abhorrent to me as I believe it trivializes the struggle of people with mental illness by making it all seem like some big personality/social issue that can be cured by willpower alone. Meds are crutches, blah blah blah.
To be fair, I will post here the comments because I am currently in hormonal imbalance week and maybe I’m overreacting. I don’t think so because I walk in my shoes and this person does not. Belittling mental illness like some sort of choice we make insults my intelligence and that of every other person who has mental illness.
On the post about the anxiety of anxiety disorder: “Delusion or illusion?” Not sure it matters what this dude thinks as mental illness is neither to those of us who have it. We believe what our misfiring brain is telling us.
The insult was on “My Name Is…”
“Now you know, what are you going to do about it?”
Um…Exorcism?
I was very proud of that post. It was heartfelt. It was well written. It was honest.
To have it mocked (whether intentionally or not) is abhorrent.

I am pretty sure this guy has his own agenda and his site speaks volumes as to his views of mental illness. He’s promoting something called “Social Anxiety Fix.” Like repairing a broken toaster. Belittling, trivializing, and offensive to me. Also offensive to me is giving his site any traffic.
But I am quid pro quo and if I am going to disagree publicly, then I feel compelled to let those who might read this post judge for themselves. Hell, we are all so different, his page might prove to be helpful to some.
It’s little more than a taunt to me, acting on the assumption my disorders are somehow minor and linked to some sort of personality weakness I just need to “get over”. He seems to think those with social anxiety are just lonely and socially awkward. While I am the posterchild for the latter, I am rarely the former. I love being alone. Why would I need an audience to watch me write or read?
Making a mountain out of a molehill, am I?

Meh.
I needed a subject to rant on because today is just not one of my better days. I’m in pain, and mainly want to zone out doing something that makes me happy. Which today means a marathon of eps of CSI I missed.
I’ve done everything I am supposed to do to get well. I have issues but I am not some lump whining and doing nothing about it.

On this one, Mr. Anxiety Fix and I will have to agree to disagree.

If someone else who reads this finds that way helpful…I wish them well.

Now back to CSI. A plane was sabotaged and I need to know who did it and why. Sometimes, the best break you can give yourself is one where you think of anything but your own crap.
And I am aware my petty crap is no more or less important than anyone else’s. But this blog and venting here are MY THERAPY so…
don’t fuck with it.
And if you’re selling something…You are knocking on the wrong door. I can’t afford to pay attention.

But I haven’t ruled out that exorcism thing. It’d make for great entertainment on Halloween ๐Ÿ˜‰

11 Responses to “Making a Mockery of Mental Illness”

  1. You can delete his comment, if you it is offensive. Of course, it did give you content for a blog post, so…

    • Deleting used to be my answer to upsetting comments. I am trying to evolve and face things head on, giving credence (in the form of linking to the commenter) as well as defending my position. But yeah, it was a post and I had nothing so…Bittersweet pretty much describes life itself.

      On Sun, Oct 26, 2014 at 3:30 PM, Take a Ride on My Mood Swing wrote:

      >

  2. Nuuuuugh, mental illnesses aren’t some trivial personality flaw. But then, my default response is ‘kill it with fire’, so no idea what that says about me. *cough*

  3. Victoria A Says:

    Ignorance is bliss. I used to hate that people ostracize those of us with mental health issues. Honestly, now I can only feel sorry for them. Good for you making a blog a trying to understand the cards that you were dealt. He failed to acknowledge that these are real struggles that each of us go through and your a braver soul for putting your real life online for others to read and unfortunately judge. Idiots will exist no matter what, I myself am becoming more recluse at this realization. Have you ever felt that maybe your really an indigo? The idea was presented to me and you were the first person that came to mind. Live on to fight another day friend. Don’t let anyone get you down. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Shying away has always been a coping mechanism for me. I am trying to break that pattern and face things head on. It takes more guts to do that than let ignorant people invalidate me and run me off. Besides, I’ve been criticized my whole life for every tiny thing by friends, family, perfect strangers. Not like it’s anything new. I just need to cope differently. This post was the first step. Anxiety inducing but…I feel like I am finally learning not to just have emotional conviction for my writing but the courage to face the positive and negative that comes with baring my soul in a public forum. Thanks for the supportive comment.

      On Sun, Oct 26, 2014 at 8:19 PM, Take a Ride on My Mood Swing wrote:

      >

  4. OMG! Mr. Anxiety Fix. Is he for real?
    I am currently writing a post about how mental illness is portrayed, especially on tv crime shows.

    • He’s real, unfortunately. I visited his page and clicked a couple of things. He has testimonials (supposedly) from people his method has worked for. To each their own but I’m still pretty salty about mental illness being portrayed as little more than a character weakness we can “snap” out of.

      On Mon, Oct 27, 2014 at 10:33 AM, Take a Ride on My Mood Swing wrote:

      >

      • It is people (assumptions) like Mr. Anxiety Fix here that is making me anxious (and a bit paranoid).

        Not only do I have to struggle with everyday life and choices, work, the chaos inside, the sorrow and feeling of loss, acceptance, balancing my life and medicines, health care system and personal economy, when all I really needed was a confidence boost.

        It is my own fault for not handling it. And when a boost doesn’t help (and we know it won’t) it also becomes my own fault for not doing it right. Another failure that is.

        Sorry, for ranting on this.

      • It’s ok, I get it. Seems like no matter how much we do help ourselves rather than give us a pat on the back or an E for effort, society just breaks us down some more. It gets to the point where you become paranoid because of people like Mr. Anxiety Fix oversimplifying what is a very individual fight for all of us. What works for ten of his “followers” may fail an individual. It doesn’t mean his system is bad or we are not doing well enough. Much like the meds, it’s finding the magic bullet of cocktail-therapy, meds,support system, way to balance personal life and finances…No cocktail is going to work for every person. Those who preach that it will are doing more harm than good. For every person that way helps, it might actually drive another away when it fails them.
        Our treatment should be as individualized as we each are, and society should educate itself on mental health issues rather than use blanket mentality and stigma to dismiss us.

Leave a Reply

