Gene Simmons says depressed people should kill themselves

Okay, first off. I read the comment Kiss bass player, Gene Simmons made, and I think to a small extent, it has been misconstrued and amplified.
BUT…

Saying anyone should just kill themselves, depressed or not, is an idiotic thing to say for someone whose fame puts them before an audience of millions. Many of whom are fans to the point of idol worship. Many who may have a mental disorder and hear this and think, he’s right, I suck, I’m gonna do it. TEENAGE fans, especially.

The backlash, in light of the death of Robin Williams, by suicide brought on by depression, is looking very swift for Mr. Simmons. To say something so incredibly ignorant and insensitive, then have the nerve to Tweet about the tragedy of William’s death makes Simmons an even bigger asshole than I could have ever imagined.

I’ve liked a lot of Kiss music since I was a kid but I honestly never liked Gene Simmons. I only watched “Family Jewels” because I liked the way his family ripped on him and let him know he’s not the god he thinks he is. I figure, don’t have to like the person to like their talent.

In light of this most recent ignorance, as well as the hypocrisy, I think I can safely say I won’t be able to listen to Kiss ever again without this tainting the music for me.

You’re entitled to your own opinions. You may disapprove of “depression” like it’s a character weakness. But to encourage suicide makes you one of the most ignorant people to roam the earth even if your intent wasn’t entirely malicious.

This goes to show that no matter how much talent, fame, money, or business acumen one may have…It doesn’t cure ignorance and it doesn’t give one empathy, compassion, or a conscience.

It is my sincere hope that more backlash accompanies this whole thing and that it negatively affects Mr. Simmons’ career for a very long time.

Also, if anyone who’s a fan and actually commits suicide because of what he said…I hope the families sue him and take even the fillings out of his teeth.

We need education on mental illness, not ignorance on a grand scale to spread further.

If you or anyone you know is feeling suicidal, PLEASE take a moment to think and call this number. 1-800-273-8255. Mental illness is nothing to be ashamed of and it does not mean life is hopeless or not worthwhile. Talk to someone.

It doesn’t matter what you have going for you. Depression is an equal opportunity destroyer and it is a legitimate illness. Robin Williams’ suicide following a bout with serious depression proves this.

The stigma of mental illness will never entirely lift, if we, the mentally ill, don’t speak up and educate against ignorance. Don’t let society shame you into believing it’s just your personality or you’re whining or lazy.

Let’s take back our dignity and speak out, loudly. Eleanor Roosevelt once said no one could make you feel inferior without your permission. It’s time those of us with mental disorders heed that and stop feeling ashamed.

(Reblog this, please, or write your own post on the topic, in hopes we can spread the word and maybe save a few lives. I myself was pretty close to the line between living or ending it many times and it was a chance helpful post that made me rethink and keep fighting. Spread the word, please!)

Leave a Reply

